Category – Awards

Shriram Krishnamurthi Receives Brown’s Philip J. Bray Award For Excellence In Teaching In The Physical Sciences


Brown University’s Dean of the Faculty gives out five different awards annually to recognize continued excellence in teaching, and this year, Brown CS faculty member Shriram Krishnamurthi has received the Philip J. Bray Award for Excellence in Teaching in the Physical Sciences. 

“It’s humbling to receive the same award as all our prior honorees,” says Shriram, “and....what makes me happiest is to see that our junior faculty are following the same tradition that Andy, John, and Peter established in the 60s and that has been a cultural touchstone for us ever since.”

Serdar Kadioglu Wins The 2024 AAAI Educational AI Video Competition


Serdar Kadioglu, Brown CS adjunct faculty member and Group VP of AI at Fidelity Investments, recently won the 2024 AAAI Educational AI Video Competition, a new competition for informative AI videos for general audiences whose goal is to create positive videos that help spread informative, accurate, and timely information about AI research and applications for the general public. His video, “From Classical AI to Modern and Generative AI: The Evolution of AI Paradigms”, explored the decades-long progress of AI.

Ellie Pavlick Receives Brown’s Early Career Research Achievement Award


Now in its eighth year, Brown University’s annual Early Career Research Achievement Award is presented by the Office of the Vice President for Research and supported by the Office of the President and the Provost to nurture and recognize the extraordinary research contributions of faculty. This year, Manning Assistant Professor of Computer Science Ellie Pavlick is the winner in the Physical Sciences category.

Qiuhong (Anna) Wei Receives The Norman K. Meyrowitz '81 Award


Brown University's Department of Computer Science has just announced that Qiuhong (Anna) Wei, a Brown CS student in the concurrent Master's program concentrating in Computer Science and Mathematics, a researcher in the Brown Visual Computing and Theoretical Computer Science at Brown groups, and one of the Meta Undergraduate Research Assistants (MURAs) who coordinate undergraduate research, has just won the Norman K. Meyrowitz '81 Award. Named for an alum known for his contributions to the department, the award recognizes exceptionally meritorious service to Brown CS and is accompanied by a cash prize of five hundred dollars.


Twenty-Eight Students Win 2024 Brown CS Senior Prizes


Anika Bahl, Nathan Benavides-Luu, Nicholas Bottone, Swetabh Changkakoti, Ivery Chen, Jiahua Chen, Jack Cheng, Daniel Cho, Troy Conklin, Benjamin Goff, Mandy He, David Heffren, Dylan Hu, Helen Huang, Hammad Izhar, Mehek Jethani, Anirudh Narsipur, Anna Ohrt, Nishka Pant, Sreehari Rammohan, Joseph Rotella, Shreyas Sundara Raman, Shirley Loayza Sanchez, Anh Truong, Qiuhong (Anna) Wei, Angela Xing, Carolyn Zech, and Conrad Zimmerman have each received the Senior Prize in Computer Science for their academic work as well as their service to Brown CS.  

Brown Students Place In The Top Two In Multiple Challenges At MIT iQuHACK 2024



Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT’s) iQuHACK (Interdisciplinary Quantum Hackathon) is MIT’s annual quantum hackathon that aims to bring students from a diverse set of backgrounds and from high school through early-career professionals to explore improvements and applications of near-term quantum devices. The 2024 iteration of the hackathon was held in early February and offered both an in-person hackathon where participants developed and tested their code on real quantum hardware as well as a virtual hackathon for a larger outreach to further students. 

Anna Lysyanskaya Receives The Levchin Prize For Real-World Cryptography


The International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR) is a nonprofit scientific organization whose purpose is to further research in cryptology and related fields. Every year at the Real World Crypto Symposium (RWC), they award the Levchin Prize for Real-World Cryptography, which honors major innovations in cryptography that have had a significant impact on the practice of cryptography and its use in real-world systems. Two prizes are awarded each year, and one of this year’s winners is Brown University James A. and Julie N. Brown Professor of Computer Science Anna Lysyanskaya.