Laidlaw, van Dam, And Two Brown CS Alums Win An IEEE CG&A Test Of Time Paper Award


<meta charset="utf-8">Every year, IEEE Computer Graphics and Applications bestows its Test of Time Award on regular or special issue papers published by the magazine that have made “profound and long-lasting impacts in bridging the theory and practice of computer graphics.” A recently announced winner of the 2021 award is a 1989 paper (“The Application Visualization System: A Computational Environment for Scientific Visualization”) co-authored by  Brown CS Professor David Laidlaw and Thomas J. Watson, Jr. University Professor of Technology and Education and Professor of Computer Science Andy van Dam with two Brown CS alums, Robert Gurwitz (now at EY-Parthenon) …

Brown CS Student Rachel Ma Receives A CRA Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Honorable Mention


The Computing Research Association (CRA) is a coalition of more than 200 organizations with the mission of enhancing innovation by joining with industry, government, and academia to strengthen research and advance education in computing. Every year, they recognize North American students who show phenomenal research potential with their Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Award, and in 2022, Brown CS student Rachel Ma was one of only thirty-two students to receive an Honorable Mention.

Brown CS Alum Danfeng Yao Has Been Named An IEEE Fellow


Last month, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) named Brown CS alum Danfeng (Daphne) Yao (now Professor of Computer Science, Elizabeth and James E. Turner Jr. '56 Faculty Fellow, and CACI Faculty Fellow at Virginia Tech) an IEEE Fellow, recognizing her “for contributions to enterprise data security and high-precision vulnerability screening”.

Sorin Istrail Wins A 2021 ESA Test-Of-Time Award


The European Symposium on Algorithms (ESA) recently announced that Julie Nguyen Brown Professor of Computational and Mathematical Sciences and Professor of Computer Science Sorin Istrail, along with collaborators, won the ESA 2021 Test-of-Time Award for their 2001 paper “SNPs Problems, Complexity, and Algorithms.” The award recognizes “excellent papers in algorithm research that were published ... 19-21 years ago and which are still influential and stimulating for the field today,” according to the ESA. Giuseppe Lancia of the University of Udine, Vineet Bafna of UC San Diego, Ross A. Lippert of DE Shaw Research, and Russell Schwartz of Carnegie Mellon University …

Brown CS Master’s Student Chris Mascioli, Greenwald Win Tournament At The International Automated Negotiation Agents Competition

This August, Brown CS Master’s student Chris Mascioli, along with Professor Amy Greenwald, won the agent negotiation tournament in the Supply Chain Management League at the 12th annual International Automated Negotiation Agents Competition (ANAC), held this year at the International Joint Conferences on Artificial Intelligence (IJCAI) in Vienna, Austria.

Tassallah Amina Abdullahi Wins An ACM SIGHPC Computational and Data Science Fellowship


Tassallah Amina Abdullahi, a second-year doctoral student in Computer Science, has won a highly competitive Computational and Data Science Fellowship from the Association for Computing Machinery’s Special Interest Group on High Performance Computing (ACM SIGHPC). She is one of eleven fellowship winners for 2022 in the international competition, which is intended to increase the diversity of students pursuing graduate degrees in data science and computational science, including women and students from racial/ethnic backgrounds that have not traditionally participated in the computing field.       

Brown CS Alums Alyssa Cantu And Steven Shi Receive NSF CSGrad4US Fellowships


Last year, Brown CS alums Steven Shi and Alyssa Cantu were awarded the NSF Computer and Information Science and Engineering Graduate (CSGrad4US) Fellowship. This honor aims to increase the number of diverse, domestic graduate students pursuing careers in the fields of computer science, computer engineering, or information science. More specifically, CSGrad4US offers an opportunity for bachelor’s degree holders who are working in industry to return to academia and pursue research-based doctoral degrees. 

George Konidaris Wins A Salomon Award To Express Prior Knowledge To Reinforcement Learning Agents


Brown CS Professor George Konidaris has just received a Richard B. Salomon Faculty Research Award. This honor, given annually by Brown’s Office of the Vice-President for Research, was established to support excellence in scholarly work by providing funding for selected faculty research projects of exceptional merit with preference given to junior faculty who are in the process of building their research portfolio.

Zachary Espiritu Wins The Norman K. Meyrowitz '81 Award


Brown University's Department of Computer Science has just announced that Zachary Espiritu, a Brown CS student, SPOC (Systems Programmer, Operator, and Consultant), and one of the four Meta-TAs who coordinate the Undergraduate Teaching Assistant program, has just won the Norman K. Meyrowitz '81 Award. Named for an alum known for his contributions to the department, the award recognizes exceptionally meritorious service to Brown CS and is accompanied by a cash prize of five hundred dollars.