Articles by Jesse Polhemus

Vasileios Kemerlis Wins An NSF CAREER Award For Adaptive Hardening, Debloating, And Hardware-Assisted Protection


The need for exploit mitigations is more critical than ever,” says Brown CS faculty member Vasileios (Vasilis) Kemerlis, “and even more so when it comes to critical infrastructure. Despite years of research, software hardening still revolves around a ‘protect everything, the same way, all the time, at the same intensity’ approach that works well only with defenses that have negligible performance overhead and are oblivious to the settings in which the hardened software is used.”


Anh Truong And Qiuhong Anna Wei Win The Randy F. Pausch Computer Science Undergraduate Summer Research Award


The Randy F. Pausch '82 Computer Science Undergraduate Summer Research Award, given this year to Anh Truong and Qiuhong Anna Wei to support their work with Brown CS faculty members Daniel Ritchie and Srinath Sridhar, respectively, recognizes strong achievement from undergraduate researchers and offers them the opportunity to continue their work over the summer.

Seny Kamara And Charalampos Papamanthou Win The 2022 CCS Test-Of-Time Award


The Association for Computing Machinery’s Conference on Computer and Communications Security (CCS) announced that Brown CS faculty member Seny Kamara and Brown CS alum and current Yale CS faculty member Charalampos Papamanthou won the CCS Test-Of-Time Award for a 2012 paper in the field of searchable encryption. At the time, Charalampos was a Brown CS PhD student advised by faculty member Roberto Tamassia, interning at Microsoft Research. Seny and co-author Tom Roeder were working at Microsoft Research.

Maurice Herlihy Becomes An Inaugural CNRS Fellow-Ambassadeur


Located in Paris, France, the National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS) is Europe’s largest fundamental scientific agency, a public institution that covers all scientific disciplines. Among the world’s leading research institutions, its scientists explore the living world, the universe, and the functioning of human societies in order to meet the major challenges of today and tomorrow. This year, the CNRS invited only a dozen outstanding researchers to be part of its inaugural Fellow-Ambassadeur program, and one of them was An Wang Professor of Computer Science Maurice Herlihy of Brown CS. He’ll spend at least three months in CNRS laboratories over …

Brown CS Alum John Stasko Has Been Named An ACM Fellow


Earlier this month, the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the world’s largest educational and professional computing society, elevated Brown CS alum John Stasko (now  Regents Professor in the School of Interactive Computing in the College of Computing at Georgia Tech) to the rank of Fellow for contributions to the design, analysis, usage, and evaluation of software and information visualization., The ACM Fellows Program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of leading members of the computing field by conferring the association’s most prestigious membership grade.

Laidlaw, van Dam, And Two Brown CS Alums Win An IEEE CG&A Test Of Time Paper Award


<meta charset="utf-8">Every year, IEEE Computer Graphics and Applications bestows its Test of Time Award on regular or special issue papers published by the magazine that have made “profound and long-lasting impacts in bridging the theory and practice of computer graphics.” A recently announced winner of the 2021 award is a 1989 paper (“The Application Visualization System: A Computational Environment for Scientific Visualization”) co-authored by  Brown CS Professor David Laidlaw and Thomas J. Watson, Jr. University Professor of Technology and Education and Professor of Computer Science Andy van Dam with two Brown CS alums, Robert Gurwitz (now at EY-Parthenon) and Jeff …

Brown CS Student Rachel Ma Receives A CRA Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Honorable Mention


The Computing Research Association (CRA) is a coalition of more than 200 organizations with the mission of enhancing innovation by joining with industry, government, and academia to strengthen research and advance education in computing. Every year, they recognize North American students who show phenomenal research potential with their Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Award, and in 2022, Brown CS student Rachel Ma was one of only thirty-two students to receive an Honorable Mention.

Brown CS Alum Danfeng Yao Has Been Named An IEEE Fellow


Last month, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) named Brown CS alum Danfeng (Daphne) Yao (now Professor of Computer Science, Elizabeth and James E. Turner Jr. '56 Faculty Fellow, and CACI Faculty Fellow at Virginia Tech) an IEEE Fellow, recognizing her “for contributions to enterprise data security and high-precision vulnerability screening”.

Sorin Istrail Wins A 2021 ESA Test-Of-Time Award


The European Symposium on Algorithms (ESA) recently announced that Julie Nguyen Brown Professor of Computational and Mathematical Sciences and Professor of Computer Science Sorin Istrail, along with collaborators, won the ESA 2021 Test-of-Time Award for their 2001 paper “SNPs Problems, Complexity, and Algorithms.” The award recognizes “excellent papers in algorithm research that were published ... 19-21 years ago and which are still influential and stimulating for the field today,” according to the ESA. Giuseppe Lancia of the University of Udine, Vineet Bafna of UC San Diego, Ross A. Lippert of DE Shaw Research, and Russell Schwartz of Carnegie Mellon University …